Published 16 August 2021 4 min read
England Men's Senior Team

Vote for your England POTY

Written by:

Andy Walker

Voting is now open for the men's and women's BT England Player of the Year Award for the 2020-21 season

Fans can now select their standout performer from both the England senior men’s and women’s teams over the last 16 months. 

The annual honours recently switched from calendar years to a seasonal basis but the interruption to international football owing to the COVID-19 pandemic means these latest awards will cover a longer period, stretching back to March 2020. 

For the Three Lions, this extends to 20 fixtures covering the 2020-21 UEFA Nations League and this summer’s memorable run to the final of UEFA EURO 2020.

With the Lionesses already qualified for next year’s UEFA Women’s EURO as host nation, this period only covers six matches including the 2020 SheBelieves Cup and three internationals against Northern Ireland, France and Canada during February and April 2021.  

The shortlists include those who played in 50 per cent or more of those fixtures, which equates to 14 men’s nominees and 17 women's nominees. 

A total of 17 Lionesses are in contention for the 2020-21 BT Player of the Year Award
A total of 17 Lionesses are in contention for the 2020-21 BT Player of the Year Award

Jordan Henderson and Lucy Bronze are the current holders, having both been crowned 2019 BT England Player of the Year in January 2020. 

Dominic Calvert-Lewin 
Jack Grealish 
Harry Kane
Harry Maguire
Tyrone Mings
Mason Mount 
Jordan Pickford 
Kalvin Phillips
Declan Rice
Jadon Sancho
Raheem Sterling
John Stones 
Kieran Trippier 
Kyle Walker

Carly Telford
Leah Williamson
Alex Greenwood
Kiera Walsh
Steph Houghton
Millie Bright
Nikita Parris
Jill Scott
Georgia Stanway
Lauren Hemp
Ellen White
Chloe Kelly
Jordan Nobbs
Toni Duggan
Bethany England
Ellie Roebuck
Rachel Daly