Published 01 October 2021 4 min read
England Womens Youth Teams

England women's under-17 squad announced for triple header in Poland

Written by:

Frank Smith

England WU17s face Russia, Belgium and Poland in the space of a week

Lydia Bedford has named a 20-player squad for England women’s under-17’s three matches in Poland this month.

England WU17s met up on Wednesday and will fly out to Poland today before next week’s triple-header.

First up will be Russia at Stadion Miejski in Inowroclaw on Monday, with kick-off at 2.30pm BST (3.30pm local time).

On Thursday they will head to the Bydgoszcz Stadium to face Belgium at 2.30pm BST (3.30pm local time) before taking on the hosts Poland at the same venue on Sunday 10 October at 10am BST (11am local time).

Head coach Bedford’s coaching staff will include her assistants, former Watford Ladies manager John Salomon and ex-Millwall Lionesses boss Daniel Mlinar, and goalkeeping coach Jamie Annerson, who used to play for Sheffield United and Rotherham among others.

John Salomon during his days as Watford Ladies manager
John Salomon during his days as Watford Ladies manager

Along with the below squad who will be travelling to Poland, there were also four players who were part of a training squad this week. They were Sheffield United duo Ruby Clarke and Jennifer Handy, Manchester City’s Beth Strutton and Rebecca Ferguson of Newcastle United Ladies.

The squad 

Goalkeepers: Grace Pilling (Manchester City), Hannah Poulter (Reading)

Defenders: Daisy Burt (Sunderland & Gateshead College), Isabel Milne (Chelsea), Evie Rabjohn (Aston Villa), Katie Ramsden (Leeds United), Jessica Simpson (Manchester United), Mackenzie Smith (Leicester City), Ella Wilson (Sunderland & Gateshead College)

Midfielders: Jemima Dahou (Manchester City), Ruby Doe (Arsenal), Maddy Earl (Arsenal), Grace Ede (Sunderland & Gateshead College), Keira Flannery (Arsenal), Shauna Guyatt (Chelsea)

Forwards: Keira Barry (Manchester United), Aimee Claypole (Chelsea), Mia Enderby (Sheffield United), Freya Godfrey (Arsenal), Ginny Lackey (Manchester City)