Skip to main content

The Grassroots Football Awards are here for you to say thank you to all the people and organisations who give their time to make football happen… our awesome volunteers who give so much week-in, week out, rain or shine. And they are for you, the parents, coaches, clubs, leagues, fellow volunteers, match officials etc to pass on your appreciation. 

By nominating a volunteer for a Grassroots Football Award, you’re passing on your thanks. For every big and small moment they bring. For their time, energy and ideas. For your appreciation of everything they do in making the grassroots game happen. 

Your thanks will mean a lot, to a lot of people.

As well as a big thank you, our national Award winners will enjoy a once-in-a-lifetime experience at their own presentation ceremony at Wembley ahead of the Community Shield. As well as tickets to the match, filming and photography at their club plus more prizes.

You can nominate as many times as you like, in as many categories as you like. And every time you nominate a volunteer, you can be sure they’ll hear all about it.


This year, it’s easier than ever. You can now tell their story in a way you want simply by letting us know:

What they do, and how it impresses you
How they make a difference to others’ lives
Where they’ve had an impact in their community

The more detail you give, the better. 

Nominations are open to the 3 April 2024. There are twelve different categories for you to nominate into. For more details please see below – or if you’re ready…


01 Jan 2024 1:34

Grassroots Football Awards 2024

Your thanks will mean a lot, to a lot of people.


24 Mar 2023 1:29

Meet Shelbee

Shelbee’s story is amazing in so many ways and she won our Bobby Moore Award in 2023. As well as being a talented footballer for Chelsea FC and England Amputee team, she draws on her playing experiences to help build a sustainable pathway for all her players and coaches. Bringing football to so many. Watch her story here.

Volunteer groundsman

Volunteer in football

An estimated 1.4 million people dedicate their time to help provide football opportunities across England. Whether you are seeking to develop your skills, connect with your community, offer your professional expertise or ensure your child has a great experience, we thank you for your time and expertise.