Skip to main content
Published 01 October 2021 3 min read
England Youth Teams

Garry selects first MU18s squad

Written by:

Frank Smith

New England men’s under-18s head coach names the players he wants to take on Norway and Russia

New England men’s under-18s head coach Ryan Garry has named his first squad since taking charge.

MU18s have two matches in the coming weeks, as they travel to the Marbella Football Centre to take on Norway on Thursday 7 October at 3pm BST (4pm local time) and then face Russia on Monday 11 October at 2pm BST (3pm local time).

Garry replaces temporary boss Paul Williams, who oversaw September’s 1-1 draw with Wales in Newport.

The new head coach’s initial role will be to lead the MU18s, as well as contributing to all aspects of England Football’s national teams programme.

The 37 year old joins from Arsenal’s academy where he held a number of youth and professional development phases roles over the last eight years. 

Garry played for Arsenal and Bournemouth, as well as representing England up to MU20 level, but had to retire in 2011 due to injury.

Ryan Garry will take charge of England MU18s for the first time in October's games
Ryan Garry will take charge of England MU18s for the first time in October's games

His coaching career began at Bournemouth and included roles with the Nike Academy before his return to the Gunners eight years ago.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Jack Hall (Sheffield Wednesday), Charlie Setford (Ajax), Max Thompson (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Harvey Araujo (Fulham), Elijah Campbell (Everton), James Clarridge (Nottingham Forest), Brodi Hughes (Chelsea), Jadel Katongo (Manchester City), Rico Lewis (Manchester City), Joshua Robinson (Arsenal), Zak Sturge (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Midfielders: Samuel Braybrooke (Leicester City), Lewis Hall (Chelsea), Samuel Mather (Manchester United), Jack Wells-Morrison (Crystal Palace), Michael Olakigbe (Fulham), Silko Thomas (Chelsea), Charlie Webster (Chelsea)

Forwards: Zak Emmerson (Brighton & Hove Albion), Daniel Gore (Manchester United), Kian Pennant (Leicester City)*, Sonny Perkins (West Ham United), Jude Soonsup-Bell (Chelsea)

*Replaces Oakley Cannonier of Liverpool who has withdrawn