Skip to main content
Published 11 March 2022 4 min read
England Men's Senior Team

When and where is the 2022 FIFA World Cup draw?

Written by:

Nicholas Veevers

The group stage draw for Qatar 2022 takes place on 1 April, so find out all the key details ahead of the event
England will learn who they will face in the group stages of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, when the draw is made in Qatar on Friday 1 April.
Gareth Southgate's squad secured their place at the competition, to be staged in November and December this year, following the completion of a successful qualification campaign last November.
And they will be able to continue their preparations for the first-ever winter World Cup once they know who they're going to be facing in the group stage.

When is the 2022 World Cup draw?
The draw will be held on Friday 1 April 2022, at the DECC venue in Doha, Qatar at circa 7pm local time or 5pm BST.
Where can you watch the draw?
It will be streamed live on FIFA's website and will be broadcast by the BBC in the UK.
What is the format of the draw?
There are 32 nations involved in the 2022 World Cup, who will be drawn into eight groups of four. We know that the host nation Qatar will be in position one of Group A. From there, nations will be split into four pots based on FIFA rankings with the top-rated teams joining Qatar in pot one.

Pot 1: Qatar, Brazil, Belgium, France, Argentina, England, Spain, Portugal
Pot 2: Mexico, Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Uruguay, Switzerland, USA, Croatia
Pot 3: Senegal, Iran, Japan, Morocco, Serbia, Poland, South Korea, Tunisia
Pot 4: Cameroon, Canada, Ecuador, Saudi Arabia, Ghana, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine, Peru/Australia/UAE, Costa Rica/New Zealand
Each group will have no more than one nation from any of the geographical regions, aside from Europe who can have no more than two nations in any one group.
21 Nov 2021 14:36

Every goal from England's World Cup qualifying campaign

See all 39 goals that the Three Lions scored during the qualification campaign for the 2022 World Cup!

Who has qualified for the World Cup?
So far, we have 12 European nations who have been confirmed (Germany, Denmark, France, Belgium, Croatia, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland and Netherlands) with one more nation to join following the remaining play-off (Wales v Scotland/Ukraine,) which will take place in June.
From South America, perennial challengers Brazil and Argentina have already secured their qualification and they will be joined by Ecuador and Uruguay. Peru will take on either Australia or United Arab Emirates in one of the two inter-confederation play-offs this summer.

Five African nations have qualified in the shape of Cameroon, Ghana, Morocco, Tunisia and Senegal.
From Asia, Japan, South Korea, Iran and Saudi Arabia have qualified and will be joined by two more nations from that region following the inter-confederation play-offs.
From CONCACAF, we have USA, Mexico and Canada confirmed for Qatar while there will be an inter-confederation play-off between Costa Rica and New Zealand in June.
When does the 2022 World Cup take place?
The group stages will kick-off on Monday 21 November at the Al Bayt Stadium in Qatar. From there, the group stages will see up to four matches played per day over a period of 12 days so make sure you have your diaries and holiday requests at the ready, as it's going to be a packed schedule of football for all concerned
The 2022 World Cup Final will be played on Sunday 18 December at the Lusail Iconic Stadium. Merry Christmas, hopefully!
What is the tournament format?
After the group stages have been completed, the top two teams from each group will progress to the 'round of 16', phase, the first of the knockout rounds which then lead into the quarter-final and semi-final stage. 
How can I get tickets for the 2022 World Cup?
Tickets are available through FIFA. If you want to support the Three Lions within the England allocation, then you need to register as a My England Football member and then join the England Supporters' Travel Club.