Skip to main content
Published 23 September 2022 4 min read
England Women's Senior Team

England Women to celebrate 50th anniversary at USA game

Written by:

David Gerty

Former players invited to Wembley as we mark milestone for England's senior women's team
The marquee international between England and the United States at Wembley Stadium on Friday 7 October 2022 will be dedicated to the 50th anniversary of the senior women’s team.

More than 100 former England women’s internationals are expected to attend the fixture as guests of the FA, which sees the 2022 European champions welcome the current world champions in front of a sold-out Wembley Stadium connected by EE.

As part of the celebrations, members of the inaugural team who made history when they played Scotland in the first full international on 18 November 1972 will play a key role in proceedings, lining up with the current generation and representatives from an England development team ahead of kick-off. Attendees from the 1972 team will also receive a bespoke England cap on the evening as part of a special presentation.

All former players in attendance will be invited pitch-side at half time to receive the acknowledgement of the crowd.
The England team ahead of their first international, against Scotland in 1972
The England team ahead of their first international, against Scotland in 1972

In line with the anniversary, the England women’s team will mirror the men’s senior team by adopting the tradition of legacy numbers. The initiative will celebrate the individuals who hold the honour of representing the nation at women's senior level with their own unique number.

All former players have been identified via a thorough research programme commissioned by the FA with the ambition to better recognise the history of the women’s game. JJ Heritage, former members of the WFA, FIFA, UEFA, the National Football Museum, the British Library, National Lottery Heritage Fund and other members of the women’s football family have been central to its creation.

The legacy numbers will be announced on Friday 18 November 2022, the team’s official anniversary, and will allow all former and current players to collectively acknowledge their own part in England’s history.

The legacy numbers will then be worn in England’s matchday shirts from 2023 onwards and every former player will in due course receive a special velvet cap with their newly-established legacy number embroidered on the front.

Sarina Wiegman, England Women’s head coach, said: “We're all grateful to the former generation of players who have paved the way for today’s growth and success. All of them represented their country with so much talent but also fought so hard on and off the pitch to break barriers and make the women’s game what it now is. The players today also know the challenges they faced and appreciate everything that has been done to give them the opportunities they now have. It is great we can say thank you to the Lionesses legends.”

Kay Cossington, head of women’s technical at the FA, added: “The USA game will be a fantastic chance to celebrate and thank all the Lionesses who have worn the shirt with pride since 1972. We're indebted to every former player, all of whom are valued members of the ‘England family’. The summer’s success and sell-out crowds at Wembley Stadium would not be possible without them and we hope they can reflect on the role they have played and they enjoy their evening.

“We are also indebted to many in the women’s football family who have helped collate this historic list. In particular, Professor Jean Williams and Patricia Gregory, who have worked tirelessly with FA colleagues to make this happen.”


List of current and former England Senior Women’s players [1972-2022]:

The list has been built from historical records and a thorough research project with support from Professor Jean Williams and her colleagues from JJ Heritage, Patricia Gregory and her former colleagues from the WFA, Colin Aldis, Rod Prescott, Daniel Mooney, John Carrier, Thorsten Frennstedt, David Hanley, the National Football Museum, National Lottery Heritage Fund, the British Library, UEFA, FIFA, Lioness legends, FA colleagues past and present, and many other individuals from the women’s football family. The FA are indebted to all those who have helped in this project. 

Jeannie Allott
Eniola Aluko
Anita Asante
Elaine Badrock
Janet Bagguley (Clark)
Debbie Bampton
Angela Banks (Taylor-Banks)
Karen Bardsley
Amanda Barr
Laura Bassett
Sarah Begg (Tongue)
Hannah Blundell
Gemma Bonner
Gail Borman
Sophie Bradley (Bradley-Auckland)
Millie Bright
Samantha Britton
Joanne Broadhurst
Lucy Bronze
Rachel Brown (Brown-Finnis)
Lauren Bruton
Sue Buckett
Pru Buckley
Danielle Buet (Bowman)
Karen Burke
Louise Cafferkey
Karen Carney
Frances Carroll
Danielle Carter
Jess Carter
Marie-Anne Catterall
Siobhan Chamberlain
Leanne Champ
Pat Chapman
Katie Chapman
Niamh Charles
Pauline Chilton (May)
Sandra Choat
Isobel Christiansen
Helen Clancy
Jess Clarke
Linda Coffin
Laura Coombs
Pauline Cope (Boanas)
Alex Cottier (Cottier-Small)
Gillian Coultard
Linda Curl
Michelle Curley
Natasha Daly
Rachel Daly
Tracy Davidson (Scragg)
Pat Davies
Kerry Davis
Gemma Davison
Debbie Day
Liz Deighan
Lorraine Dobb (Hanson)
Tracy Doe
Natasha Dowie
Toni Duggan
Lizzie Durack
Mary Earps
Becky Easton
Aran Embleton
Bethany England
Vicky Exley
Karen Farley (Livermore-Farley)
Kelley Few
Pat Firth (Mitchell-Firth)
Gilly Flaherty
Jo Fletcher
Julie Fletcher
Eileen Foreman
Maxine Fowkes (Johnson)
Angela Gallimore
Melanie Garside (Garside-Wight)
Gabrielle George
Sylvia Gore
Sandra Graham
Alex Greenwood
Rayner Hadden
Lynda Hale
Leanne Hall
Hannah Hampton
Cathy Hamstead (Bird)
Jody Handley
Maria Harper
Carol Harwood
Kay Hawke
Samantha Hayward (Howarth)
Lauren Hemp
Julie Hemsley
Michelle Hickmott
Lorraine Hoey
Steph Houghton
Olivia Hughes
Alexa Hunn (Hunn-Phillips)
Loraine Hunt (Smith)
Carly Hunt
Christine Hutchinson (Knox)
Terri Irvine (Hinton)
Sallie Jackson
Michelle Jackson (Slater)
Lauren James
Sheree Jameson (Livesey)
Kim Jerray-Silver
Lindsay Johnson
Vicky Johnson (Sartain)
Chloe Kelly
Vanessa Kemp
Fran Kirby
Morag Kirkland (Pearce)
Claire Lacey
Clare Lambert (Knapton)
Sue Law (Ravenlaw)
Melissa Lawley
Alison Leatherbarrow
Josie Lee (Clifford)
Eileen Lillyman
Tina Lindsay
Sue Lopez
Justine Lorton
Mandy Lowe
Sandy MacIver
Debbie Mack
Ellen Maggs
Julia Manning (Brunton)
Tina Mapes
Maureen Marley
Maureen Martin (Reynolds)
Kate Massey
Rachel McArthur (Stowell)
Carol McCune (Thomas)
Kelly McDougall
Margaret McGroarty
Abbie McManus
Mary Meacham (Rudkin)
Beth Mead
Margaret Miks (Hobson)
Jan Milner
Kristy Moore
Jade Moore
Danielle Murphy
Janice Murray
Patricia Napier (Cavanagh)
Jordan Nobbs
Una Nwajei
Mandy O'Callaghan
Carole Osborne
Wendy Owen
Sheila Parker (Porter)
Nikita Parris
Kirsty Pealling
Mary Phillip
Sarah Pollard
Isobel Pollard
Angela Poppy
Josanne Potter
Hope Powell
Tara Proctor
Claire Rafferty
Sarah Reed
Audrey Rigby
Ellie Roebuck
Jemma Rose
Alessia Russo
Ebony Salmon
Lianne Sanderson
Alex Scott
Jill Scott
Brenda Sempare
Jackie Sherrard
Lesley Shipp (Higgs)
Karen Skillcorn
Jackie Slack
Debbie Smith (Cowell)
Donna Smith
Kelly Smith
Sue Smith
Marieanne Spacey (Spacey-Cale)
Drew Spence
Terry Springett
Lucy Staniforth
Jane Stanley
Georgia Stanway
Lesley Stirling
Demi Stokes
Casey Stoney
Dunia Susi
Clare Taylor
Jodie Taylor
Carly Telford
Julie Tomlinson
Ella Toone
Janet Turner (Mayer)
Amy Turner
Chioma Ubogagu
Rachel Unitt
Claire Utley
Karen Walker
Carmaine Walker
Louise Waller (Newstead)
Keira Walsh
Emily Westwood
Clare Wheatley (Stevens)
Fern Whelan
Faye White
Ellen White
Sue Whyatt
Marrie Wieczorek
Sian Williams
Rachel Williams
Fara Williams
Leah Williamson
Jean Wilson
Theresa Wiseman
Chantel Woodhead
Lotte Wubben-Moy
Rachel Yankey
Corinne Yorston
Linda Young
Layla Young
Katie Zelem