Skip to main content
Published 23 June 2023 3 min read
England Para Teams

England Powerchair squad named for FIPFA World Cup

Written by:

Nicholas Veevers

The Para Lions will head to Australia in October for 2023 World Cup in Sydney


The England Powerchair squad for this year’s FIPFA World Cup has been named.

Taking place in Sydney, Australia between 15-21 October, the Para Lions will take an eight-strong group to the competition which features ten nations.

England will open their tournament on Sunday 15 October against Argentina before facing Republic of Ireland and Denmark in their second and third fixtures the following day.

France and New Zealand will provide opposition on Tuesday 17 October before it’s the USA and Uruguay on the Wednesday and then the final group matches against Japan and Northern Ireland on Thursday 19 October.

After the conclusion of the first stage, teams will then go into their final matches on Friday 20 October, which will be a semi-final for the top two in each group, will the remaining six teams will play-off to determine their final placing.
The Powerchair squad will be heading out to Australia in October
The Powerchair squad will be heading out to Australia in October
“The FIPFA World Cup is the pinnacle for our England Powerchair players,” said James Watkins, senior technical performance manager.

“Our players will test themselves against the top nations in the world and the competition offers a unique but challenging game structure, with all ten teams playing each other in the group stage before progressing to the seeded games.

“On a number of the days, we will have two extremely competitive games so on the back of a long journey to Australia, the preparation for this has to be exceptional and we will rely on the expertise of our wider practitioners to ensure players are ready to perform.

“As current European champions, we have high hopes for winning the World Cup and are relishing the chance to again face the world’s top teams, including the USA and France.

“It is particularly exciting that this squad has a great blend of experience and youth and this is testament to the strength of our national league and club structure.”

The Squad

Jon Bolding (PF2) - Aspire
Marcus Harrison (PF1) West Bromwich Albion
Ed Common (PF1) - Northern Thunder
Brad Bates (PF1) - Aspire
Dave Lewis (PF1) - WBA
Dan McLellan (PF1) - Aspire
Chris Gordon (PF2) - West Bromwich Albion
Tyler Reeve (PF2) - Teesside
23 Jun 2023 0:35

Powerchair football explained

Find out more about the format of football played by our Para Lions