Skip to main content
Published 17 March 2023 3 min read
Men's U19

England MU19s squad named for EURO elite round qualifiers

Written by:

Nicholas Veevers

Young Lions head coach Simon Rusk names a 21-player squad for games on home soil against Hungary, Iceland and Turkey


England men’s under-19s are aiming to secure their place at this summer’s U19 EURO Finals in Malta, when they host the elite qualifying round on home soil in March.

The Young Lions will face opposition from Hungary, Iceland and Turkey, with the team who tops the group after three games sealing their spot in July’s tournament finals.

And head coach Simon Rusk has named his squad for the games, which kick-off against Hungary at Walsall’s Bescot Stadium on Wednesday 22 March (7.30pm GMT).

They then tackle Iceland at Rotherham’s New York Stadium on Saturday 25 March (2pm GMT), before the group is wrapped up against Turkey at Chesterfield’s Technique Stadium on Tuesday 28 March (7.30pm BST).
Midfielder Darko Gyabi in action against Denmark at the first qualifying stage last September
Midfielder Darko Gyabi in action against Denmark at the first qualifying stage last September
Rusk’s group qualified for the elite round after a successful trip to Denmark for the first qualifying round last September, with three wins coming against MontenegroGeorgia and the host nation. 

Tickets for all three games are now on sale, as England look to retain the title which they lifted last summer in Slovakia.

The Squad

Goalkeepers James Beadle (Crewe Alexandra, loan from Brighton & Hove Albion), Tommy Simkin (Stoke City), Joe Whitworth (Crystal Palace)

Defenders: Luke Chambers (Kilmarnock, loan from Liverpool), Lewis Hall (Chelsea), Lee Jonas (Liverpool), Ben Nelson (Doncaster Rovers, loan from Leicester City), Ashley Phillips (Blackburn Rovers), Zak Sturge (Chelsea), Reuell Walters (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Darko Gyabi (Leeds United), George Hall (Birmingham City), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Charlie Webster (Chelsea), Adam Wharton (Blackburn Rovers)

Forwards: Reyes Cleary (West Bromwich Albion), Amario Cozier-Duberry (Arsenal), Will Dickson (Manchester City), Omari Forson (Manchester United) Divin Mubama (West Ham United), Sonny Perkins (Leeds United)