Skip to main content
Published 17 May 2023 2 min read
Men's U17

England MU17s squad named for EURO Finals

Written by:

Nicholas Veevers

The Young Lions are in Hungary for this month's UEFA U17 EURO Finals

England men’s under-17s head to Hungary this week for the UEFA U17 EURO Finals with a 21-player squad.

Head coach Ryan Garry and his players successfully came through two qualifying rounds last October and then in March to seal their place in the Finals and will kick-off their campaign against Croatia on Thursday evening (7pm BST).

From there, they take on the Netherlands on Sunday 21 May (7pm BST) before their final group match against Switzerland on Wednesday 24 May (2pm BST).

The top two teams from each of the four groups will then head into the knockout stage with quarter-finals (Saturday 27 May), semi-finals (Tuesday 30 May) before the Final takes place in Budapest on Friday 2 June.

This year's U17 EURO also acts as the European qualifiers for the 2023 FIFA U17 World Cup, with five spots at that competition in October available to the four teams who reach the semi-finals while a play-off between two of the beaten quarter-finalists will decide the fifth qualifier.

The majority of Garry’s squad featured in the elite qualifying round games in March, when they beat Denmark and Northern Ireland before narrowly losing 1-0 to group hosts Netherlands, who they will face again in the Finals.

The only two players in the squad who haven’t featured in either of the two qualifying stages this season are Manchester United midfielder Finley McAllister and Aston Villa forward Kadan Young.

All of the MU17s’ games at the EURO will be streamed live on and also in the UK via the BBC Red Button and iPlayer service.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Ted Curd (Chelsea), Finlay Herrick (West Ham United), Tommy Setford (Ajax)

Defenders: Josh Acheampong (Chelsea), Somto Boniface (Chelsea), Mofe Jemide (Crystal Palace), Jayden Meghoma (Southampton), Lakyle Samuel (Manchester City), Ishé Samuels-Smith (Everton)

Midfielders: Isaiah Dada-Mascoll (Manchester City), Kiano Dyer (Chelsea), Michael Golding (Chelsea), Archie Gray (Leeds United), Myles Lewis-Skelly (Arsenal), Finley McAllister (Manchester United)

Forwards: Leon Chiwome (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Tyler Dibling (Southampton), Zakariya Lovelace (Glasgow Rangers), Ethan Nwaneri (Arsenal), Justin Oboavwoduo (Manchester City), Kadan Young (Aston Villa)