Skip to main content
Published 02 April 2024 4 min read
Women's U19

England WU19s squad named for EURO qualifiers

Written by:

Beth McHugh

The Young Lionesses head to Portugal for their UEFA Women's U19 EURO second qualifying round in April

England women's under-19s head coach John Griffiths has named a 20-player squad for the final round of EURO qualifying.

The Young Lionesses will first face Switzerland, before playing host nation Portugal and Italy as they look to secure their place at the 2024 UEFA Women’s U19 EURO this summer. All three qualifying fixtures will take place in Lisbon, Portugal, with the winner of the mini tournament making it through to the finals in Lithuania in July.

England came through round one of qualifying by winning all three matches, scoring nine goals and conceding just once.

“We’re really looking forward to our time in Portugal," said Griffiths.

"It’s going to be a tough test with three strong opponents to get past to secure qualification for the EURO finals this summer. Preparation for the Elite Round has gone well, and it will be a great experience for our Young Lionesses to develop in competitive international experiences of this nature.”

England v Switzerland
2pm, Wednesday 3 April
Complexo Desportivo do Real Sport Clube, Lisbon, Portugal

England v Portugal
6pm, Saturday 6 April
City of Football (Portugal FA HQ), Lisbon, Portugal

England v Italy
3pm. Tuesday 9 April
Complexo Desportivo do Real Sport Clube, Lisbon, Portugal

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Katie Cox (Chelsea), Hannah Poulter (University of Southern California)

Defenders: Brooke Aspin (Chelsea/Bristol City), Grace Ede (Sunderland), Lucy Newell (Manchester United/West Bromwich Albion), Jessica Osborne (Auburn University), Evie Rabjohn (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Ashanti Akpan (Chelsea), Araya Dennis (Tottenham/Crystal Palace), Maddy Earl (Arsenal), Vivienne Lia (Arsenal), Lexi Potter (Chelsea/Crystal Palace), Louanne Worsey (Birmingham City/Nottingham Forest)

Forwards: Michelle Agyemang (Arsenal/Watford), Ava Baker (Leicester City), Mia Enderby (Liverpool), Freya Godfrey (Arsenal/Charlton Athletic), Georgia Mullett (Aston Villa), Poppy Pritchard (Manchester City), Katy Watson (Sunderland)