Skip to main content
Published 11 June 2024 4 min read
Men's Elite League Squad

Report: England Elite League Squad 2-2 Republic of Ireland

Written by:

Adam Drury

Archie Brown and Dane Scarlett score but Young Lions are denied victory in an entertaining game in Zagreb

England men's Elite League Squad were denied consecutive wins on their trip to Croatia after Republic of Ireland equalised late in a 2-2 draw in Zagreb.

The Young Lions beat Sweden 2-1 on Friday and were on track to win by the same scoreline having come back from 1-0 down to lead.

But a late leveller ensured that the two teams had to settle for a draw.

Republic of Ireland took the lead after just three minutes with captain Joe Hodge finding the target.

England were almost back level shortly afterwards, Dane Scarlett putting a good ball into the box but Sammy Braybrooke missing the target from six yards out.

The Young Lions did finally pull level on the stroke of half-time though, with Archie Brown running unopposed from the halfway line to score.

The second half begun as the first had ended, with Dane Scarlett converting from the penalty spot after Abu Kamara had been fouled in the first minute after the restart to put Ben Futcher's side ahead.

Dane Scarlett in action for England against Republic of Ireland
Dane Scarlett in action for England against Republic of Ireland

Futcher made a raft of substitutions throughout the second half, with all 10 outfielders changed by the 65th minute of the game.

And three minutes from time Republic of Ireland made it 2-2, Jed Ward saving from the penalty spot but unable to block the follow up.

England: 1 Jed Ward (Bristol Rovers), 2 Kellen Fisher (Norwich City), 3 Archie Brown (Gent), 4 Sammy Braybrooke (Leicester City), 6 Charlie Hughes (Wigan Athletic), 7 Abu Kamara (Norwich City), 9 Dane Scarlett (Tottenham Hotspur), 11 Benicio Baker-Boaitey (Brighton & Hove Albion), 15 Brad Hills (Norwich City), 17 Martial Godo (Fulham), 21 Alex Matos (Chelsea)

Substitutes: 8 Jobe Bellingham (Sunderland) for Matos 45, 5 Ben Nelson (Leicester City) for Baker-Boaitey 55, 23 Ben Chrisene (Blackburn Rovers) for Hills 55, 10 George Earthy (West Ham United) for Brown 55, 12 Roman Dixon (Everton) for Braybrooke 65, 20 Romain Esse (Millwall) for Hughes 65, 19 Bailey-Tye Cadamarteri (Sheffield Wednesday) for Fisher 65, 18 Will Alves (Leicester City) for Kamara 65, 14 Kaelan Casey (West Ham United) for Godo 65, 16 Noel Buck (New England Revolution) for Scarlett 65

Substitutes not used: 13 Tommy Simkin (Stoke City), 22 Tommy Setford (Ajax), 25 Ben Cisse (West Bromwich Albion)

Free Rewards For Members