Skip to main content
Published 15 March 2024 3 min read
Men's U21

England MU21s squad named for Azerbaijan and Luxembourg

Written by:

Nicholas Veevers

The Young Lions are back in U21 EURO qualifying action in March with games in Baku and Bolton


Lee Carsley has named his England men’s under-21s squad to take on Azerbaijan and Luxembourg in March’s U21 EURO 2025 qualifiers.

The Young Lions face a trip to Baku for their first game on Friday 22 March (12pm), before returning to home soil for their match with Luxembourg at Bolton Wanderers FC on Tuesday 26 March (7pm).

And the head coach has picked a 24-man squad for the games, including some new faces at MU21 level.

Luton Town defender Teden Mengi receives his first MU21s call-up having previously featured at MU17, MU18 and MU20 level, while midfielders Kobbie Mainoo of Manchester United, Chelsea’s Carney Chukwuemeka, AFC Bournemouth’s Alex Scott and Leeds United’s Archie Gray are all involved with the MU21s for the first time having also been regulars for England’s younger age group teams.

There’s also a first MU21s spot for Morgan Rogers, who joined Aston Villa from Middlesbrough in January and is also another player to have picked up caps from MU17 through to MU20 level in the past.

21 Nov 2023 5:27

Highlights: England MU21s 3-0 Northern Ireland

Watch back the best of the action as the Young Lions pick up three points at Goodison Park in their last home game of 2023

These will be the MU21s’ first games of 2024, following on from their 3-0 victories over Northern Ireland at Goodison Park and against Serbia last November.

Tickets for the game at Bolton’s Toughsheet Stadium are on sale now, while both games will also be streamed live on the official England YouTube channel.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Matthew Cox (Bristol Rovers, loan from Brentford), Sam Tickle (Wigan Athletic), James Trafford (Burnley) 

Defenders: Charlie Cresswell (Leeds United), Callum Doyle (Leicester City, loan from Manchester City), Taylor Harwood-Bellis (Southampton, loan from Manchester City), Rico Lewis (Manchester City), Teden Mengi (Luton Town), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Brooke Norton-Cuffy (Millwall, loan from Arsenal), Nathan Wood (Swansea City)  

Midfielders: Carney Chukwuemeka (Chelsea), Harvey Elliott (Liverpool), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), James McAtee (Sheffield United, loan from Manchester City), Tyler Morton (Hull City, loan from Liverpool), Archie Gray (Leeds United), Alex Scott (AFC Bournemouth) 

Forwards: Jamie Bynoe-Gittens (Borussia Dortmund), Jay Stansfield (Birmingham City, loan from Fulham), Sam Iling-Junior (Juventus), Noni Madueke (Chelsea), Jaden Philogene (Hull City), Morgan Rogers (Aston Villa)