Skip to main content
Published 26 January 2024 4 min read
Women's U17

England women’s under-17s squad named for the first three fixtures of 2024

Written by:

Beth McHugh

Young Lionesses are heading to Spain for three matches next month

England women's under-17s head coach Natalie Henderson has selected a 24-player squad for a warm weather camp in Spain in February.

The Young Lionesses will start the year by taking on the Netherlands on Saturday 3 February (11am GMT KO) before facing the Philippines on Monday 5 February (3pm GMT) in what will be the first of two fixtures in the MIMA Cup.

Depending on the outcome of that match, they will then play either Scotland or Sweden in the MIMA Cup final or third place play-off on Thursday 8 February, with all three of England’s matches taking place at the Pinatar Arena in San Pedro del Pinatar.

The camp will form part of the WU17s’ preparation for the second round of UEFA EURO qualifying, with three matches taking place in Serbia in March.

The winners of that qualifying tournament will secure their place in this summer’s finals in Sweden in May.

Henderson said: “We’re excited to kick start our 2024 off with three quality opponents in Spain and we have no doubt that all three games will pose different challenges.

“The MIMA Cup gives us the opportunity to test ourselves in a competitive tournament environment, which is ideal preparation as we look ahead to our second round of EURO qualifiers in March.”

The Squad: 

Goalkeepers: Rebekah Dowsett (Watford/Leicester City), Hope McSheffrey (Arsenal), Eva Spencer (Liverpool)

Defenders: Eva Gray * (Arsenal), Sophie Harrison (Arsenal), Sophie Harwood (Southampton) Issy Hobson (Everton)**, Nelly Las (Leicester City), Grace McEwen (Brighton & Hove Albion), Niamh Peacock (Arsenal), Simone Sherwood (Leicester City), Cecily Wellesley-Smith (Oxford United)

Midfielders: Emily Cassap (Sunderland), Laila Harbert (Arsenal/Watford), Vera Jones (Barry Town), Omotara Junaid (Arsenal), Abby Kay (Chelsea), Erica Parkinson (FC Valadares)

Forwards: Lola Brown (Chelsea), Denny Draper (Leicester City), Mia Endacott (Plymouth Argyle), Isabella Fisher (Arsenal), Eva Hendle (Chelsea)**, Tamira Livingston (Manchester United)

* Replaces Jessica Pegram (Brighton & Hove Albion) who had to withdraw
** Withdrawn from squad