Skip to main content
Published 08 March 2021 4 min read
England Men's Senior Team

Three Lions squad named for September

Written by:

Frank Smith

Gareth Southgate has picked his players for September's games with Hungary, Andorra and Poland

Leeds United forward Patrick Bamford has been called up to the England men's senior team for the first time after Gareth Southgate named a 25-man squad for September’s internationals. 

It is the second time the pair have worked alongside each other after Southgate handed the 27 year old his England MU21 debut back in 2013, with the former Chelsea and Middlesbrough forward also featuring for our Young Lions at MU19 and MU18 level in the past.

Bamford enjoyed an impressive season last term, finding the net 17 times in 38 games upon Leeds United’s return to the Premier League.

Southgate has also recalled Nick Pope, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Jesse Lingard after the trio missed out on the Three Lions’ UEFA EURO 2020 campaign.

England will play three 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers across seven days next month, starting with a trip to Hungary and the Puskas Arena on Thursday 2 September.

Patrick Bamford, pictured in action for Leeds this season, has previously represented England at MU18, MU19 and MU21 level
Patrick Bamford, pictured in action for Leeds this season, has previously represented England at MU18, MU19 and MU21 level

Fans will then have the chance to watch Southgate’s men at Wembley Stadium connected by EE for the first time since the UEFA EURO 2020 Final, when they welcome Andorra on Sunday 5 September before heading to Poland’s Stadion Narodowy on Wednesday 8 September.

England currently sit top of their qualifying group with three wins from three, having scored nine goals and conceding just once in games against Poland, Albania and San Marino back in March.

England squad to face Hungary, Andorra and Poland

Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone (West Bromwich Albion), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Declan Rice (West Ham United)

Forwards: Patrick Bamford (Leeds United), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)