Skip to main content
Published 01 June 2021 4 min read
England Men's Senior Team

Final England squad named for UEFA EURO 2020

Written by:

Jim Lucas

01 Jun 2021 34:00

Squad announcement: The Reaction

England manager Gareth Southgate, among others, joins our live show to talk about the squad selection for UEFA EURO 2020

The list of 26 players set to represent England at this summer’s UEFA EURO 2020 finals has been revealed.
Having announced a 33-strong provisional squad last Tuesday, Three Lions boss Gareth Southgate has now trimmed that group down ahead of UEFA’s submission deadline at 11pm this evening.
Of the 26 players selected, 15 will be getting their first experience of a senior international tournament with the squad having an average age of 25 years and three months.
Earlier in the day, it was announced by Manchester United that Mason Greenwood had withdrawn from the provisional squad due to an underlying injury.
The other six players from the provisional squad who have not made the cut – Jesse Lingard, Ben Godfrey, Aaron Ramsdale, Ollie Watkins, James Ward-Prowse and Ben White – will remain with the group for this week’s pre-tournament matches in Middlesbrough.


The Three Lions take on Austria at the Riverside Stadium on at 8pm on Wednesday, before facing Romania at the same venue on Sunday with a 5pm kick-off time. Tickets for the two matches are sold out, with both available to watch live in the UK on ITV.
While England and the other 23 sides competing at EURO 2020 will confirm their squads today, teams are able to make unlimited replacements before their first match in the event of serious injury or illness (including COVID-19 or 'close contact' to a positive case). 
Goalkeepers can be replaced during the tournament in the event of physical incapacity, even if one or two goalkeepers in the squad are still available, while a player who has been replaced cannot be re-added to the squad.
England’s EURO 2020 campaign begins on Sunday 13 June, when the Three Lions take on Croatia at Wembley Stadium connected by EE, ahead of games against Scotland and Czech Republic at the same venue.

England squad for UEFA EURO 2020
Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Bromwich Albion), Jordan Pickford (Everton)
Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)
Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Declan Rice (West Ham United)
Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)