Skip to main content
Published 08 February 2022 4 min read
Arnold Clark Cup 2022

England squad named for Arnold Clark Cup

Written by:

Callum Davies

Sarina Wiegman has picked her squad for games on home soil against Germany, Spain and Canada this month
England Women's senior head coach Sarina Wiegman has named a 24-player squad to face Canada, Spain and Germany in the first staging of the new Arnold Clark Cup.
Notable names in the selection include fit-again Manchester City duo Ellie Roebuck and Lucy Bronze after they missed out on the last three camps while Arsenal’s Leah Williamson also returns after her absence in November. However, the tournament has come just too soon for Steph Houghton as she works her way back to full fitness.
The inaugural Arnold Clark Cup on home soil features four nations ranked in the world’s top ten and will be vital preparation for England’s UEFA EURO 2022 challenge as the host nation this July.
Then, on Wednesday 23 February, they will finish against eight-time European champions Germany in Wolverhampton. Each matchday will see two fixtures played at each venue, adding to the tournament feel.
Wiegman said: “I'm looking forward to playing against three world-class teams. It will be the perfect way to begin a big year, and we will get a lot of important information from training and the matches ahead of the Euros.
“The rhythm of three games in ten days will also help us, offering more opportunity for rotation, to understand more about our squad and the way we want to play. I know the players will be excited to test themselves against strong opponents.
"This tournament can only help us on our way to being ready for the opening match of the EUROs. That is what we are all working towards. It will also be special to go to three top stadiums in different parts of the country and I am sure the fans will give us great support once again."

And you can hear more from Wiegman on the Arnold Clark Cup and on her squad selection here.

Sarina and her squad will have three games in February, as the inaugural Arnold Clark Cup is held in England
Sarina and her squad will have three games in February, as the inaugural Arnold Clark Cup is held in England
The Squad
Goalkeepers: Mary Earps (Manchester United), Hannah Hampton (Aston Villa), Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City)
Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Jess Carter (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal)
Midfielders: Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Jill Scott (Aston Villa, loan from Manchester City), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City), Keira Walsh (Manchester City), Katie Zelem (Manchester United)
Forwards: Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Beth Mead (Arsenal), Nikita Parris (Arsenal), Alessia Russo (Manchester United), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Ellen White (Manchester City)