Skip to main content
Published 16 March 2023 4 min read
England Men's Senior Team

England men's senior squad named for Italy and Ukraine

Written by:

Frank Smith

The Three Lions start new EURO qualifying group in March with two crucial games


Gareth Southgate has named a 25-man squad as England men’s senior team kick off their UEFA EURO 2024 qualifying campaign against Italy and Ukraine later this month.

Southgate has recalled four players for March’s double-header compared to his FIFA World Cup squad.

Chelsea pair Ben Chilwell and Reece James are back in following their return from injuries, while Marc Guéhi and Ivan Toney are also recalled, having first been called up in 2022.

England will start their UEFA EURO 2024 qualifying campaign away to Italy on Thursday 23 March at the Stadio Diego Armando Maradona in Naples (kick-off 7.45pm GMT).

The Three Lions will then return to Wembley Stadium connected by EE to face Ukraine on Sunday 26 March, with kick-off at 5pm BST.

Group C also includes North Macedonia and Malta, who England will face initially in June.

The top two teams from each group qualify to join hosts Germany at the 24-team Finals, with a further three nations securing a place for UEFA EURO 2024 through the play-off spots via the 2022-23 UEFA Nations League, which you can read about in more detail here.

The UEFA EURO 2024 Finals will then take place in Germany between 14 June 2024 and 14 July 2024.


Brentford striker Ivan Toney returns to the England squad in March, following his maiden call-up in September 2022
Brentford striker Ivan Toney returns to the England squad in March, following his maiden call-up in September 2022
The squad
Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)
Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United)
Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur),  Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford)