Skip to main content
Published 10 November 2022 4 min read
England Men's Senior Team

England squad named for FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

Written by:

Frank Smith

The Three Lions group has been selected for the trip to Qatar this winter


Gareth Southgate has named his 26-man England squad for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022.

The squad was unveiled on Thursday afternoon ahead of the players arriving in camp on Monday morning after this weekend’s domestic club fixtures.

Included are Jordan Henderson and Raheem Sterling, who will be joining the illustrious list of England players to have competed at three World Cups.

Southgate has selected a group with a blend of youth and experience, with 13 players set for their first World Cup and another three heading to their maiden senior major tournament, in Conor Gallagher, James Maddison and Callum Wilson – although Gallagher does have an Under-17 World Cup winner’s medal to his name from 2017, when Phil Foden was also named player of the tournament.

At the 2018 World Cup, England had the joint second youngest squad when it came to average age at 26 and the Three Lions have named another youthful group of players, with an average age of 26.4.

The Three Lions manager has named three goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders and eight forwards in his group, although it's worth noting the flexibility in the squad with players in each outfield section capable of playing in multiple positions.

10 Nov 2022 29:00

Media conference: Gareth Southgate

Watch the England manager discuss his World Cup squad selection

England’s coaching staff will head to St. George’s Park at the weekend, before the players’ arrival on Monday.

They will then fly to Qatar on Tuesday ahead of the Three Lions’ opening Group B match against Iran at the Khalifa International Stadium on Monday 21 November (kick-off 1pm GMT).

England’s second game sees them face USA on Friday 25 November at the Al Bayt Stadium (kick-off 7pm) before the third Group B fixture versus neighbouring Wales on Tuesday 29 November at the Ahmad bin Ali Stadium (kick-off 7pm).

The tournament gets underway on Sunday 20 November when hosts Qatar face Ecuador and the Final takes place on Sunday 18 December.

Southgate will be discussing his squad selection when he speaks to the media at 2.15pm and you can watch the press conference below.

Gareth Southgate and his squad will meet up on Monday 14 November to head to their World Cup base in Qatar
Gareth Southgate and his squad will meet up on Monday 14 November to head to their World Cup base in Qatar
The squad
Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal)
Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United), 
Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United)


10 Nov 2022 1:00

England Squad Announcement

Here are your Three Lions for the trip to Qatar...